Rest

A thought on Hebrews 3:11 from Dr. Timothy Keller of Redeemer Presbyterian Church in Manhattan that hit me at 6:30 this morning while I was listening to a sermon of his.

Hebrews 3:11 “As I swore in my wrath, ‘They shall not enter my rest.’” … (And I paraphrase) “God could think of no worse a punishment for his disobedient people than to never allow them to rest.  Rest is so integral to God’s perfect loving design for his children that he commanded them to take a day off.  (here was the punch)  By placing the Sabbath command in the top 10, God was saying that a civilization (or culture) that abuses  its people by overwork is as brutalizing as one that supports theft, or murder, or adultery.

Why that hit me was, I was returning from work at 6:30 a.m. and other than the 5 or so hours I was asleep last night, internally and mentally, I was “working”.

God was reminding me…,”Steven, my dear son, I ordained rest because I love you.  Be careful, I wasn’t kidding about it.  Work is a good thing but a terrible tyrant.  Your Brother died for you that you might not be enslaved to anything and to one day bring you to the rest that awaits.  Until then, rest in knowing that you are not your work but a beloved child of Mine.  Rest son.

Praying you rest this weekend!

Share

Leave a Reply

