Dear God . . . About That Moment Of Silence

This is the dedication prayer Bryan Duncan wrote for his new book Dear God . . . Really?: Prayers You Won’t Hear In Church which is available for pre-order beginning March 7, 2010 and will begin shipping a couple of weeks later.  See my review of DGR.

Dear God.. About That Moment Of Silence…

My cousin’s nine-year-old daughter was struck by a distracted driver and killed. I’m assuming you were there when it happened. I’d ask you why you take little girls but you’ve ignored my question before. Maybe it would take too long to explain. But from here it feels like yer pickin flowers before they’ve had a chance to bloom. Forgive me for not understanding this. But she was a cherub. She lit up a room wherever she went. The world seems to be a darker place when you remove lights like her.

We both know you could have prevented it if you wanted to. But you didn’t. I know that there is an appointed time for all of us with eternity. I just wish you could have scheduled her appointment a little farther down the road. We could discuss the ramifications of free will that you’ve gifted everyone and how it impacts all of us. But that doesn’t bring any one back from the dead.

I’m nearly speechless here. I’m filled with a wild mixture of love and pain, resentment, sadness, and one giant question mark about your plans. Right away I feel responsible to speak for you about why you allow this kind of tragedy. But even an accurate answer would not change the aching of hearts broken. And seeing a nine year old lying in a coffin will never look right to me.

Personally I can see how you move most of us along as a direct result of the current pain we’re in. Nothing seems to change without the pain of loss. It’s the only way we overcome our fears of changing the way things are. I pray her sacrifice is not wasted. That what needs to change in our lives here will be brought to pass. And I pray that children lost will speak to us from their shortened lives that we are responsible to love those we love deeply with all the immediacy that this moment brings.

A friend of yours told me there’s a difference between endurance and perseverance. The first is a matter of toleration while the second is a real pursuit, a moving forward in the belief that “love” will always win, truth will overcome, and darkness will dissipate. I’m picking what’s behind door number two in this case.

Take care of Erica for us, give her some hugs and kisses too. Let us rest in the pleasure of knowing that she is in your arms, safe and secure from all alarm.

And give us the strength to live fearlessly because we knew her to be that way. Until we meet again Erica, we’re leaving a light on for you down here!

Thanks for letting me share… amen

[HT:  Bryan Duncan’s Facebook fan page]

Share

One thought on “Dear God . . . About That Moment Of Silence

  1. Love this quote Bryan, is it from another source, or just a profound insight from a brother in Christ ?

    A friend of yours told me there’s a difference between endurance and perseverance. The first is a matter of toleration while the second is a real pursuit, a moving forward in the belief that “love” will always win, truth will overcome, and darkness will dissipate. I’m picking what’s behind door number two in this case.

Leave a Reply

