One Reason I Resist Coming To The Cross…

…is because it reminds me that I’m a sinner:

“I wish I never sinned” said the Israelite at the head of the queue.

The others waiting to make their sacrifices nodded.

The priest narrowed his gaze.  “Why do you wish you never sinned?”

The Israelite was amazed that the priest would ask.  The answer was so obvious it hardly needed saying.  “So I don’t have to keep returning to this altar.”

[HT:  This great illustration was written by Glen at Christ The Truth]

Sometimes my motivation for avoiding sin is not love for Christ but love for saving face.

“I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”  – Jesus Luke 5:32

“The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost.”  1 Timothy 1:15

Leave a Reply

