Gossip and the Gospel

Two good posts on gossip showed up in my reader today:

Following Jesus In The Real World: Avoiding The Gossip Trap (Dave Burchett)

“The Biblical truths that we should live by in church apply at work. Let me be honest. I am a work in very slow progress on this one. Hearing something about another person that makes me feel better about myself is still a temptation to spread and sinfully enjoy. But such actions deny the power and grace of the Cross. I am a new creature. That old insecure and needy man is no longer who I am in Christ. I need to tell myself that every day and then several times a day. Living out of that identity will make an impact in the workplace, at home, and at church.”

Gossip (Ray Ortland, Jr.)

…What should we do when a conversation starts slipping into gossip? We should immediately challenge the sin: “Hey friend, sorry to interrupt, but this is gossip. So here’s the deal. This conversation is now on hold until you go get _____________, and then you can start over and say whatever you feel you must say right to his face. I am willing to be a witness to that conversation, but I will not participate in gossip. What do you choose to do?” Amy Carmichael established this rule at her mission station: “Never about, always to.”

“Let all things be done for building up” (1 Corinthians 14:26). Therefore, let’s always ask ourselves, “These words about to rise up out of my mouth or go out through my keyboard – do they build up? Am I being constructive? If the person I feel like discussing were here with me right now, how would his presence change what I feel like saying?”

“Do not be deceived: . . . revilers will not inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.” 1 Corinthians 6:9-11

Leave a Reply

