I Thirst

water-bubblesAfter this, Jesus, knowing that all was now finished, said (to fulfill the Scripture), ”I thirst.” John 19:28

At the cross, Jesus asks the question, what do you thirst after? Throughout Scripture, thirst is a metaphor for a deep, inward spiritual emptiness and need.  Without God we will die, because the Bible says that what we most thirst for and need at the center of our lives is not stuff but God.  The question always is, what do I drink to fill that deep and profound thirst within me?

Look to Jesus and say, “You are the only One who can satisfy my deepest need.  I know, Lord, even this day I will find yet more ways to stick my mouth into the salt water of this world.  And nevertheless, Lord, I come to you as one who believes that You took my place and thirsted for me and descended into hell for me so that I might have life evermore.”

~ from “I Am Thirsty” by Joseph “Skip” Ryan in Jesus, Keep Me Near The Cross: Experiencing The Passion and Power of Easter, edited by Nancy Guthrie, pp. 83-84.

Leave a Reply

