When You Walk Through The Fire

icu-1997

In The Burn Unit - June 1997

Over at A Spacious Place our friend Sara has posted a devotional that my wife wrote several years ago about a traumatic grease fire that burned over a third of her body and shook her faith to the core.  I’ll give you the first part here, but then click over to Sara’s blog to get the rest.

When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.  Isaiah 43:2

My friend Christine was burned many years ago, so she has a unique perspective about what it means to walk through fire.  Here is a devotional thought she wrote in 2000:

On June 19, 1997, I walked into my kitchen and found a pot of grease on fire. In an effort to save the house from burning, I accidentally spilled the grease on myself, burning 38% of my body.  I was rushed to a burn unit in Mobile, Alabama where I spent the next 31 days.  It took two full years to recover.   As I fought for my life and struggled with faith, God whispered His promises to me, “Do not fear, for I have redeemed you.  I have called you by name; you are Mine!  For I am the Lord your God – the Holy One of Israel, your Savior!”

With the comfort of these verses came confusion.  How can He say, “When you walk through the fire, you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze?”  I clearly had proven scripture false because I had been burned.  Where was the protection He’d promised when I needed it most?

Read the rest here.

4 thoughts on “When You Walk Through The Fire

  1. Pingback: Life Day 2009 « The Cruciform Life Blog

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Wrestling With An Angel « The Cruciform Life Blog

  3. Pingback: Palm Sunday and Facebook Rants | The Cruciform Life

Leave a Reply

