Caution: Read With Discernment

I don’t care who you are (or what you think of The Shack)…this is funny:

Apparently, Christian bookstores want you to buy The Shack, but they don’t want you to “buy” The Shack, if you know what I mean.  You know, like, please only “buy” it in the give-me-some-money sense.

The book comes with a disclaimer, in the stores, you’re supposed to get at check-out:  “Read this book with extra discernment.”

I think that’s cool.  Hard to be against extra discernment.  Especially when the “author may have espoused thoughts, ideas, or concepts that could be considered inconsistent with historical evangelical theology.”

“May”, “thoughts”, “could be considered”…by somebody…somewhere.  “Historical evangelical theology”…dating back, literally, tens of years.

You should read the rest of this over at Letters From Kamp Krusty…funny stuff.

5 thoughts on “Caution: Read With Discernment

  1. Good, at least someone is finally saying that not all “Christian” material has good theology. There are many other “Christian” books currently in the book stores that should have the exact same warning on then. Of course, what’s even sadder is that the fact that most Christians are not very discerning. I have been amazed this year at how many people at church I’ve talked to do not believe the Bible is wholly accurate. How can you be discerning if you can’t have full trust in your faith?

  2. Jimmy, what do you think of The Shack? I had it recommended to me by a couple leaders in my organization, and I didn’t bother to tell them I had a bad opinion of it b/c of its theology. A teacher in our church a few weeks ago said the book misrepresents the Trinity badly enough to challenge Christians over it.

  3. I’m sorry Phil. For some reason I just now saw your comment/question. I would suggest you read it and see what you think. It’s a pretty quick read. For me personally, I appreciated the story of a man who suffered deeply and wrestled with God as a result. I don’t agree with all of his conclusions about God, but Job wasn’t always thinking correctly about God in the midst of his pain either. Also, this is not fiction on the level of C. S. Lewis or Gordon MacDonald or others, so lower your expectations. Enjoy the story and appreciate the questions he raises about reconciling a loving God with human suffering, but be discerning about what the story teaches about God. Being the reader you are, I’d love to see you review the book on your blog.

  4. Pingback: More On “The Shack” « The Cruciform Life Blog

Leave a Reply

