His Mercy for My Messes

A prayer by Eugene Peterson based on his meditation on 1 Timothy 2:

“Dear Lord Jesus,

Help me to come to you with each and every mess I have made,

Regardless how large or how small,

How trivial or how terrible.

Help me to realize who I am – a sinner,

Still, after all these years, after all these tears, still a sinner.

And help me to realize who you are – a Savior,

Still at the right hand of the Father, interceding for us, still a Savior.

Still loving me, still forgiving me,

Still taking the shattered pieces of the things I’ve dropped,

Gathering me into your loving arms

And making me whole again.”

[HT:  Storyfeast.org]

Leave a Reply

