Stay-At-Home Missionary

This is the cruciform life in action: being the beloved bondservant of Christ wherever He guides you and to whomever He gives you. This young lady is a living example of how to love God and others in our Personal Mission Field.  Her Personal Mission Field just happens to also be the “foreign mission field.”  Here’s the essence of her post, but be sure to go to her blog for more and for pictures:

Yes, it’s true, that I am a “missionary” by title and location, but really, aren’t we all? Aren’t we all called to be missionaries in whatever God has called us to do? The fact that I live overseas makes me no less or more of a missionary than anyone, anywhere else in the world.

For me, my first mission field is in the home, preparing a haven for my hard working husband, homeschooling my kids, and guiding little souls to Jesus. It all begins here. If I can’t do it well in the home (which, there are many times that I do not!), then really, what do I have?Then, it extends to people all around me, the ones that I come in contact with on a regular basis. Am I showing Christ to all of these people?…

I want to share a story that has touched my heart so deeply, it was as if the Lord Himself whispered softly into my ear. The other day I went to visit my neighbor, who happens to be a Muslim woman. She is a very dear lady who teaches children about their religion. As I sat at her house, she began telling another lady about me. She said, ” This lady, Joy, is very holy. I have seen her be very patient with her children. She is always playing with them, spending time with them, and every time she goes to the store, she takes them ALL with her. This lady is very holy.”Now, this is not a tooting of my own horn. In fact, this is quite the opposite. You see, there are times when I feel so discouraged about the lack of “outside” ministry that I am involved in. Generally, my life revolves around my home. It isn’t very glamorous. It’s a lot of poopy diapers, cleaning up the same messes again and again, and falling into bed exhausted at the end of the day. And (going back to my last post), there are times when I compare myself to others, and I begin to feel as though I am not doing enough.

This woman noticing my life spoke to my heart and reminded me that I am EXACTLY where He wants me, doing EXACTLY what he wants me to do.

Jim Eliot said, “Wherever you are, be all there. Live to the hilt every situation you believe to be the will of God.”

Being a missionary begins in the small things, the unseen things, the less than glamorous things. Are we up to it? I hope so, because the world is watching.

[HT:  A Holy Experience via 22 Words]

Leave a Reply

