New Verses for “Jesus Keep Me Near the Cross”

Recently I’ve been singing Fannie Crosby’s “Jesus Keep Me Near the Cross” quite bit as I’m trying to “walk from day to day with its shadows o’er me.”  This morning I came up with three new verses that help me focus on living a life that is shaped by the cross into the shape of the cross:

By the cross we’re saved to serve, and tell the old old Story

Not to us, Lord, not to us, but to Your Name give glory

In the cross, in the cross be my glory ever

‘Til my ransomed soul shall find rest beyond the river

I am crucified with Christ, Christ now lives within me

I will live by faith in Him who poured His life out for me.

In the cross, in the cross be my glory ever

‘Til my ransomed soul shall find rest beyond the river

He who did not spare His Son, but gave Him up for sinners

How will He not also make His children more than conqu’rors?

In the cross, in the cross be my glory ever

‘Til my ransomed soul shall find rest beyond the river

Verses ©2008 by Jimmy Davis

2 thoughts on “New Verses for “Jesus Keep Me Near the Cross”

  1. Pingback: New Hymns Collection for Free « The Cruciform Life Blog

Leave a Reply

