Praying For A Cruciform Life (Psalm 119:59-60)

When I think on my ways, I turn my feet to your testimonies; I hasten and do not delay to keep Your commandments. Psalm 119:59-60

Father, I have not taken the necessary time to stop and reflect on my life and the path I’ve been walking.  I need to more regularly “think on my ways”–to examine my life against the pattern of the cruciform life You have created me to follow.

  • Have I been living as Your son, embracing the love You have given me through the life, death, and resurrected life of Your Son Jesus?
  • Have I been loving as Your servant, expressing my faith in You through love for You and others (Galatians 5:6)?
  • As Your servant have I been exalting You by seeking first Your kingdom and Your righteousness or my kingdom and my own righteousness?
  • Have I served You as a good and faithful steward, allowing Your Word to equip me to use to use the resources (my body, time, talent, treasure, truth, words, work, creation and relationships) You have given me for the advancement of Your kingdom?
  • How faithfully have I served my brothers and sisters in Christ as a shepherd, tending to their souls as I love and labor with them in kingdom service and encourage them in their pursuit of the cross shaped life?
  • Have I been a sower, intentionally engaging my neighbors, the nations, and the next generation with the Good News of Your King and kingdom through works of service and words of witness?

As I carefully consider the condition of my heart, my head, and my hands today, I confess to You and repent of all the ways I’ve been walking which have led me off the path of loving You and loving others.

Now, Father, turn my feet back to the paths of righteousness, back to the testimonies You gave Your servant Moses on the mountain.  But first help me hear and believe the message of salvation, the Good News You preached to Your people before You prescribed the paths they should walk:

“I am the LORD your God, who brought you…out of the house of slavery” (Exodus 2:2, Deuteronomy 5:6).

This is the Good News of the Gospel, Father.  You have rescued me from my slavery to sin through Jesus Christ, and now You are my God and I am Your child forever.  You have delivered me from a path of destruction and set my feet on the path of righteousness, to walk in loving service of my King and the people You bring across my path today.

Your Gospel of peace has readied my feet so that they are quick to run with the Good News and good works that shout “our God reigns!”  (Ephesians 6:15, Isaiah 52:7, Ephesians 2:10).

In the name of Jesus, in whom I abide and in whose footsteps I long to follow (1 John 2:6).  Amen.

Leave a Reply

