Easy Target

I am an easy target for the Prince
of darkness, as he prowls the earth to seek
out sinners to oppress and saints to tweak
for all their inconsistencies. I wince
at every barb and accusation, since
it is impossible for me to speak
a word in my defense. My hope, how bleak
it seems, confronted by his evidence.

I have no armor to protect me from
his ravages; yet You surround me, Lord.
I have no glory of my own to plead
when at me Satan’s accusations come.
But You are all my glory, and Your Word
and Jesus’ face are all the help I need.

by T. M. Moore

O LORD, how many are my foes! Many are rising against me; many are saying of my soul, there is no salvation for him in God. But You, O LORD, are a shield about me, my glory and the lifter of my head. I cried aloud to the LORD, and He answered me from His holy hill. Psalm 3:1-4

[from T. M. Moore’s daily email Crossfigell…sign up to receive Crossfigell here.]

Leave a Reply

