Does It Break Your Heart When You Break Mine?

I’m tempted to respond to the news of John Edwards’ admission of adultery in at least 2 ways:

  1. Self-righteousness:  “It figures.  I hope he gets what’s coming to him!  Typical politician.  I knew there was something fake about him.  How could he?”
  2. Self-centeredness:  “Who really cares?  It doesn’t affect me.  Let’s talk about real news.”

But perhaps a third response would be more appropriate:

3.  Self-examination:  “I’m as capable of gross sin as he is.  God be merciful to me a sinner.”

Every time I read Psalm 119:136 (My eyes shed streams of tears because people do not keep Your law.), I think about how few tears I shed over my own sin, much less the sins of others.  Could I examine my own heart enough to see the frequency and intensity of my lack of love for God and people and let it break my heart?  Could I then turn and see the lack of love for God and people that others display and let their sin break my heart, too?

I hear the voice of Jesus say:

“Does it break your heart when you break Mine?  Do you ever share the tears I cry, My child?  Does it break your heart when they break Mine?  Could you ever grieve with tears like Mine, My child?”

Leave a Reply

